Natural Stone Institute Board of Directors

L to R: Bruce Knaphus, Robert Barnes III, Rob Teel, Ali Kader, Dacia Woodworth, Greg Osterhout, Aaron Hicken, Jesus Gonzalez, David Castellucci, Joshua Levinson, Daniel Wood, Kent Barnow, Brenda Edwards, Bernie Van Etten III, Jon Lancto, Bob Zavagno, David Carnevale, Buddy Ontra, Michael Schlough, Michael Picco, Kathy Spanier, Herwig Callewier, Duane Naquin 


Natural Stone Institute Board of Directors

During the two year joint venture (2016-17) both the MIA and BSI (jointly known as the MIA+BSI, the Natural Stone Institute), will operate as a consolidated organization. Each organization will also maintain its individual identity and retain separate board of directors, however, twenty-one individuals from the two boards will serve on a joint board. Board members from both organizations are listed below. 

2017 Officers (+ indicates services on the joint board)

Jon Lancto, MIA President +
Jon Lancto
405 Station 12
Sullivans Island, SC 29482
Phone: 843.860.4150
Zone 3: Southeast: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee

Daniel Wood, BSI President +
Lurvey Landscape Supply
30560 N Russell Drive
Volo, IL 60073
Phone: 815.363.4420
Term Expires 2020

David Carnevale, MIA Vice President+
Carnevale & Lohr, Inc.
6521 Clara St.
Bell Gardens, CA 90201
Phone: 562.927.8311
Zone 7: Pacific: Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon and Washington   
Term Expires 2018

Greg Osterhout, BSI Vice President+
Northern Stone Supply
P.O. Box 249
Oakley, ID 83346
Term Expires 2021

Robert Zavagno, MIA Treasurer/Secretary +
Cleveland Marble Mosaic Co
4595 Hinckley Industrial Parkway
Cleveland, OH 44109
Phone: 216.749.2840
Zone 12: At-Large       
Term Expires 2018

Kathy Spanier, BSI Secretary +
17482 Granite West Road
Cold Spring, MN 56320-2593
Phone: 320.685.3621
Term Expires 2022

David Castellucci, MIA Immediate Past President +
Kenneth Castellucci & Associates, Inc
9 New England Way
Lincoln, RI 02865
Phone: 401.333.5400

Aaron Hicken, BSI Immediate Past President +
Delta Stone Products
2276 South Daniels Road
Heber, UT 84032
Phone: 435.654.3336
Term Expires 2019

2017 Directors (+ indicates services on the joint board)

Robert Barnes III, BSI Past President +
Dee Brown, Inc.
4101 S. Shiloh Road
Dallas, TX  75041
Phone:  214.321.6443
Term Expires 2017

Kent Barnow, BSI Director +
U.S. Stone Industries
3515 W. 75th Street, Ste. 105
Prairie Village, KS 66208
Phone: 913-529-4154
Term Expires 2018

Herwig Callewier, MIA Director +
Beltrami N.V.
Benetielaan 22Harelbeke, VL
Belgium  B-8530
Phone: + 32 56 23 70 00
Zone 10:  Europe
Term Expires 2021

Brenda Edwards, MIA Director +
TexaStone Quarries
1400 Sherrod Road
P.O. Box 38
Garden City, TX 79739
Phone: 432.354.2569
Zone 5: Mid-South: Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Texas    
Term Expires 2018

Jesús González IV, MIA Director +
WBT De Mexico SA De CV
Belisario Dominguez 1779 Col. Obispado
Monterrey, NL
MEXICO 64060
Phone: + 52 81 8390 5005
Zone 9: Central & South America, Mexico, Puerto Rico, and the Caribbean
Term Expires 2017

Ali Kader, MIA Director +
Egy-Mar International
LOB 09 Office No. 115 Jebel Ali Free Zone
P.O. 18382 Dubai
United Arab Emirates  18382
Phone:  +20 12 23 19 21 02
Zone 11: Africa, Asia, Australia, Middle East and Philippines
Term Expires 2021

Bruce Knaphus, MIA Director +
Kepco+, Inc.
1987 South 700 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84104
Phone: 801.975.0909
Zone 6: Rocky Mountain: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming         Term Expires 2020

Joshua Levinson, MIA Director +
Artistic Tile
520 Secaucus Rd.
Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone: 201.864.7000
Zone 2: Mid-Atlantic: District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia      
Term Expires 2019

Duane Naquin, MIA Director +
Stone Interiors East
131 Palmetto Court
Gaston, SC  29053
Phone:  803.461.8950
Zone 3: Southeast: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee
Term Expires 2021

Badia “Buddy” Ontra, MIA Director+
Ontra Stone Concepts
541 Central Ave.
Bridgeport, CT 06607
Phone: 203.367.4757
Zone 1: Northeast: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont
Term Expires 2020

Michael Picco, MIA Director +
Picco Engineering
8611 Jane Street, Suite 200
Concord, ON
Phone: 905.760.9688 ext 223
Zone 8: Canada
Term Expires 2020

Michael P. Schlough, MIA Director +
Park Industries, Inc.
6301 Saukview Drive
St. Cloud, MN 56303
Phone: 320.251.5077 Direct: 320.229.3434
Zone 13: Associate Members  
Term Expires 2017

Rob Teel, BSI Past President serving on the MIA+BSI board +
Continental Quarries (div. Continental Cut Stone)
P.O. Box 37
Florence, TX 76527
Phone: 254.793.2329
Term Expires 2018

Bernard Van Etten III, MIA Director +
Murphy Marble Co.
11756 South Halsted St.
Chicago, IL 60628
Phone: 773.928.7114
Zone 4: Midwest: Iowa, Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin   
Term Expires 2019

Dacia Woodworth, BSI Director +
Materials Marketing, Inc.
595 S. Broadway, Suite 107 S
Denver, CO 80209
Phone: 303.777.6007
Term Expires 2019

BSI-only Directors

Mike Beckmann, BSI Director
707 Swan Dr.
Mukwonago, WI 53149
Phone: 262-363-9877
Term Expires 2019

Bryce Bennett, BSI Director
Diamond Stone Technologies
2237 Industrial Dr
Bedford, IN 47421
Phone: 812-277-9850
Term Expires 2019

Kevan Busik, BSI Director
Representative: Past President’s Council
Delaware Quarries, Inc.
6603 Rt. 202, PO Box 778
New Hope, PA 18938
Phone: 215.862.1670
Term Expires 2019

Brenda Buster, BSI Director
Lyons Sandstone
2493 CR 37E
Lyons, CO 80540
Phone: 303.823.5659
Term Expires 2019

Bill Halquist, BSI Director
Halquist Stone
N51 W23563 Lisbon Rd, PO Box 308
Sussex, WI 53089
Phone: 262.246.9000
Term Expires 2018

Louis Kamenka, BSI Director
Rundle Rock Building Stone
P.O. Box 8388
Canmore, AB
Phone: 403.609.4050
Term Expires 2017

Bill Mirch, BSI Director
Tompkins Bluestone Company
325 Tar Hollow Road
Hancock, NY 13783
Phone: 607.637.5222
Term Expires 2017

Tevin Norman, BSI Director
TexaCon Cut Stone, LLC
4790 Fluck Mill Road, PO Box 850
Bloomington, IL 47402
Phone: 812.824.3211
Term Expires 2019

Holly Varga, BSI Director
Halbert Mill Company
PO Box 927
Jacksonville, TX 75766
Phone: 800.521.2788
Term Expires 2019

Professional Board Members

Michael Bischoff, AIA
Representative: Architects
Pei Cobb Freed & Partners
New York, NY
Phone: 212.751.3122
Term Expires 2018

Renae Kwon, RA
Representative: Architects
Wiss Janney Elstner Associates
Northbrook, IL
Phone: 847.272.7400
Term Expires 2018

Natural Stone Institute Executive Staff

Jim Hieb, CAE
380 E. Lorain Street
Oberlin, OH 44074
Phone: 440.250.9222
Fax: 440-774-9222

Executive Vice President
Jane Bennett
5 Riverside Drive Building 2
Chestertown, NY  12817
Phone: 440.250.9222
Fax: 440-774-9222


Professional Staff at Natural Stone Institute Headquarters

Technical Director
Chuck Muehlbauer
5743 Spruce Street
St. Cloud, Minnesota 56303

CEU Administrator
Sarah B. Gregg



Countertop IQ Stones of North America