Stone of the Year


Namib Blanco
Calacatta Lincoln marble swatch

Colorado Stone Quarries has sponsored the 2024 Natural Stone Institute Stone of the Year. Calacatta Lincoln® marble will be featured on 2024 member certificates, membership pledges, and association marketing materials throughout the year.

Discovered in 2012 with the opening of a new portal—the Lincoln® Gallery—located above the old Colorado Yule marble mine, Calacatta Lincoln® marble has an elegant and delicate veining with a warm white background. Its unique vein structure sets it apart from other marbles and creates a look that is both modern and timeless. Calacatta Lincoln® is the perfect choice for large projects, such as kitchen countertops and flooring. Its durability and exquisite veining make it a stone that will stand the test of time.

To learn more about Calacatta Lincoln® marble, click here.




Past “Stone of the Year” recipients

2023 – Namib Bianco marble by Best Cheer Stone, Inc.
2022 – Olympian White Danby marble by Vermont Quarries
2021 – Calacatta Columbus marble by Granitos Zucchi
2020 – Tesoro Bianco marble by Granitos Zucchi
2019 – Labradorite Bianca by Sun Minerals Madagascar
2018 – Desert Beige Marble by Egymar International and International Marble Company
2017 – Las Vegas Rock by Cereser & Las Vegas Rock
2016 – Lundhs Blue by Lundhs
2015 – White Diamond by Cereser
2014 – Rossette by TAB India Granites Pvt Ltd
2013 – Bethel White by Rock of Ages
2012 – Echo Lake by Coldspring
2011 – Irish Green by Antolini Luigi
2010 – German Greenstone by JMS
2009 – Vermont Verde Antique by Vermont Verde Antique LLC
2008 – Masi Quartzite
2007 – PP4 Black Granite by Gem Granites
2006 – Kasota Valley Limestone by Coldspring
2005 – Giallo Corallo by Testi Group
2004 – Silver Cloud Imperial by Fletcher Granite
2003 – Sequoia by Testi Group
2002 – Golden Vyara
2001 – Black Saint Laurent
2000 – Glacier Bluff Minnesota Stone by Vetter Stone Company
1999 – Sunset Red by Coldspring
1998 - Verde Issorie
1997 – Scheherazade Vein by New Mexico Travertine
1996 – Tadoussac by Granicor
1995 - Bianca Rosa

To inquire about sponsoring a future Stone of the Year, contact Jeff Pavic at

Starting in 2022, the Stone of the Year will alternate between North American companies (even years) and International (odd years).



Use Natural Stone

Genuine. Versatile. Unique. Durable. Sustainable. Easy to Maintain.