Tucker Design Awards

The 2020 Tucker Design Awards will be presented virtually on August 18 at 11AM ET.

Join us as we showcase each award winning project, highlighting the design and use of natural stone. We’ll share the judges’ comments and learn what made the project award-worthy. Celebrate our recipients and the companies who contributed to the success of each project. We’ll also learn about the career of our 2020 Bybee Prize recipient and their long legacy of using natural stone.

Register for the Virtual Event

2020 Tucker Design Awards Winners

Robert Zavagno

MdeAS Architects
New York, NY

645 Fifth Avenue, Olympic Tower
New York, NY


Mike Picco

Liederbach & Graham Architects 
Chicago, IL

An American House
Hinsdale, IL


Greg Osterhout

Meyer & Meyer 
Boston, MA

Archangel Estate 
Brookline, MA 


Badia “Buddy” Ontra

Eric Inman Daum, LLC 
Andover, MA

Boch Garden Pavilion 
Norwood, MA


Duane Naquin

Eric Eggemeyer 
San Angelo, TX

Eggemeyer’s General Store 
San Angelo, TX  


Herwig Callewier

Valode & Pistre 
Paris, France 

Grande Arche de la Défense 
Paris, France


Evan Cohen

Scott L. Aker, AIA
Wilmington, DE

June 5th Memorial Park 
Philadelphia, PA  



Leonardo De Tatagiba

FFKR Architects 
Salt Lake City, UT 

Philadelphia Pennsylvania Temple 
Philadelphia, PA


Jeff Erickson

Montreal, QC Canada

Place Vauquelin 
Montreal, QC Canada


Mariavittoria Grassi

Edmonton, AB Canada

Royal Alberta Museum 
Edmonton, AB Canada


Katie Jensen

McCrery Architects, LLC 
Washington, DC

Sacred Heart Cathedral 
Knoxville, TN


Ali Kader

New Haven, CT

Sculpture Park & Bosque
at 1775 Tysons Boulevard 
McLean, Va


About the Awards

Initiated by Building Stone Institute in 1977, the Tucker Design Awards are recognized as one of the most prestigious architectural design awards in the country. Tucker Design Awards honor those who have achieved excellence in design through the incorporation and use of natural stone in building or landscape projects. Tucker Design Awards are presented biennially. Click here for the history of the Tucker Design Awards.


The Tucker Design Award celebrates and awards design professionals whose projects achieve excellence in the use of natural stone in design and construction. Open to any design professional or industry member on behalf of the design team. Winners are not selected by project category. 


$125 for first entry
$100 for each additional entry

How to Enter

A formal call for entries for the 2022 awards will be forthcoming. Check this page for updates.

  • Entry and submission are electronic.
  • Jury Review PDF and Participant List must be prepared before entering. You will be asked to send these files as part of the submission process. After payment, please email your files to gina@naturalstoneinstitute.org
  • Each Tucker Design Award submission may also be entered for consideration of a Pinnacle Award. The Pinnacle Awards are hosted annually in January. See Entry Form for details. Additional fees apply.
  • Submission deadline is July 20, 2021.

Submission Guidelines      Jury Review PDF Sample


Each Tucker Design Award event utilizes a unique set of jurors who are steemed members of the design professionals from whom the award submission is received. Jury members enjoy exposure to work from around the world as well as the challenging role of choosing the winners. Entries typically range from large commercial projects, to private residences, public monuments and private gardens. The winning selection is purely subjective to each jury.

Past Tucker Design Awards

The 2018 Tucker Design Awards were presented February 25, 2018 at the Tobin Center for Performing Arts in San Antonio, TX.


The 2018 Tucker Design Awards in the Carlos Alvarez Theater at
the Tobin Center for Performing Arts, San Antonio, Texas.

Download and view the 2018 award program

2018 Tucker Design Awards Winners

1100 Architect
Perry World House

Atelier Alter
Yingliang Stone Archive

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
Williams College Sawyer Library

BVH Architecture
Saint John Paul II Newman Center

Mikyoung Kim Design
Boston Children's Hospital

University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School Health Learning Building

Gustafson Guthrie Nichol
National Museum of African American History and Culture

Gustafson Guthrie Nichol
The Park at CityCenter

HBRA Architects, Inc.
Lincoln Park House

Kansas Statehouse Exterior Masonry Restoration

VMDO Architects
Buckingham County Primary & Elementary Schools at the Carter G. Woodson Education Complex

Woods Bagot
Brookfield Place Tower

The 2018 Tucker Design Awards Jury

Robert Golde, PLA, FASLA Principal, Towers|Golde Landscape Architects, New Haven, CT
Brigham Keehner, AIA, LEED AP Senior Associate, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, New York, NY
Michael Garrison, Professor of Architecture, University of Texas at Austin, TX


Stones of North America

Use Natural Stone

Genuine. Versatile. Unique. Durable. Sustainable. Easy to Maintain