The Bybee Prize

Tod Williams and Billie Tsien
2022 Bybee Prize Recipients

Tod Williams and Billie Tsien founded their New York City based firm Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners in 1986. Their practice is committed to reflecting the values of non-profit, cultural, and academic institutions toward an architecture of enduring vision. A sense of place defined by light, texture, detail, and most of all, experience, is at the heart of their designs.

Some of their notable projects include the Asia Society Hong Kong, Lefrak Center at Lakeside in Prospect Park, Brooklyn and the Barnes Foundation in Philadelphia. Their current work includes the U.S. Embassy in Mexico City, the renovation of David Geffen Hall at Lincoln Center, New York City and the Obama Presidential Center in Jackson Park, Chicago.

Over the past three decades, their dedication to this work has been recognized by numerous national and international citations including the National Medal of the Arts from President Obama, the 2013 Firm of the Year Award from the American Institute of Architects, and the 2019 Praemium Imperiale presented by the Japan Art Association.

In parallel to their practice, Tod and Billie teach at Yale University as the Charles Gwathmey Professors in Practice, and are devoted participants in the broader cultural community. Tod is a trustee of the Cranbrook Educational Community and the American Academy in Rome. In 2021 Billie was appointed by President Biden to the U.S. Commission of Fine Arts, serving as the first Asian-American and woman to be Chair.

As educators and practitioners they are deeply committed to creating a better world through architecture

About the James Daniel Bybee Prize

Since 2001, in honor of the late James Daniel Bybee – a former president of the Building Stone Institute and then president of Bybee Stone Company – this award is presented by the Natural Stone Institute to an individual architect or landscape architect for a body of work executed over time and distinguished by outstanding design and use of natural stone. Past recipients include: Malcolm Holzman, FAIA; M. Paul Friedberg, FASLA; Cesar Pelli, FAIA; Lawrence Halprin, FASLA; Henry N. Cobb, FAIA; Laurie D. Olin, RLA, FASLA; Robert Frasca, FAIA; Peter Walker, FASLA; and Robert A.M. Stern, FAIA.


Past Bybee Prize Recipients:

2020 Bybee Prize Recipient

Roger P. Jackson, FAIA, LEED AP
FFKR Architects
Salt Lake City, Utah



2018 Bybee Prize Recipient

Carol R. Johnson, FASLA
IBI-CRJA (retired 2016)
Boston, Massachusetts

View more on Carol R. Johnson in the Spring 2018 issue of Building Stone Magazine


2016 Bybee Prize Recipient

Robert A.M. Stern, FAIA
Robert A.M. Stern Architects
New York, NY

View more on Robert A.M. Stern in the Fall 2016 issue of Building Stone Magazine


2014 Bybee Prize Recipient

Walker, Peter_closerPeter Walker, FASLA
PWP Landscape Architecture
Berkeley, CA

View more on Peter Walker in the Spring 2014 issue of Building Stone Magazine.


2012 Bybee Prize Recipient

Bob Frasca 2012 Bybee Prize WinnerRobert J. Frasca, FAIA
Partner-in-Charge of Design
ZGF Architects LLP



2010 Bybee Prize Recipient

2010 Bybee Prize Recipient

Laurie D. Olin



2008 Bybee Prize Recipient

bybee winner 2008

Henry N. Cobb, FAIA
Pei Cobb Freed Partners




2006 Bybee Prize Recipient

Lawrence Halprin, FASLA

2004 Bybee Prize Recipient

Cesar Pelli

2002 Bybee Prize Recipient

M. Paul Friedberg, FASLA

2001 Bybee Prize Recipient

Malcolm Holzman, FAIA
Holzman Moss Bottino Architecture


Use Natural Stone

Genuine. Versatile. Unique. Durable. Sustainable. Easy to Maintain.